Vegan Scene


natural neon energy
July 22, 2010, 7:12 pm
Filed under: recipes | Tags: , ,


It’s not unusual to see some one drinking a brightly colored liquid. Usually a red, blue, or green beverage is loaded with artificial colors and tons of sugar.

Well, for the past 36 hours, I have been slurping down a very refreshing, home made BRIGHT GREEN chilled beverage and it was quite the punchy antidote to the usual green guzzler. This stuff was made from a diluted mixture of celery, kale, cucumber, and carrot juices, as well as the juice of a ripe lime.

The concept of this beverage evolved when I opened the fridge and saw this slightly out of date abundance of celery:

I don’t really like celery, but it was cheap, and around here we buy cheap, organic vegetables compulsively. To me, this vegetable is good for very few things. I like making stock with it, and I begrudgingly tolerate it for its nutritional content, but I will forgo it completely if it has been sliced and cooked into slippery soft chunks for a soup. In that case, I’d rather eat warm snot.

But no one can deny the bountiful range of minerals and vitamins that the celery vegetable possesses, so I decided I was going to make a juice. I picked a few gigantic leaves of kale from the garden, and combined that with 5 celery sticks, the quarter of a cucumber I found in the fridge, and a medium sized carrot. The result was a strong, stinky puddle of life giving chlorophyll!

I didn’t attempt to drink this thing neat. No, I have learned my lesson too many times before with the liquid extractions of green vegetables. Not long ago, I made myself ingest a half pint of thick, earthy kale juice, and shortly after I was experiencing an intense, nauseating head ache. No, veg juice is powerful, especially if you haven’t been in the habit of drinking it regularly(and I haven’t been lately). A little bit goes a long way!

So I put 4 or 5 tablespoons of this potent liquid, a good 2 wedges of lime juice, and a half pint of water together in a glass– and it was great. I loved it. It’s light and energizing. You do taste the kale and the celery, but it is a controllable, almost subtle taste that allows you to drink it down in good health. The best part is, there’s a good amount of this stuff left and since a little goes a long way, I can enjoy 7 or 8 glasses in the span of a day before it runs out, and know that I am hydrating with power.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

